Non Flash Content - Children running through a field of corn

2009 Shortlist Announced for Bord Gáis Energy National Media Awards


Excellence in Irish Journalism Celebrated through Bord Gáis Energy National Media Awards Programme.

Forty two journalists have been shortlisted across twelve categories for the popular 2009 Bord Gáis Energy National Media Awards. Over 300 entries were received across the national media, including RTE, BBC Northern Ireland, The Irish Times, The Irish Independent, The Sunday Tribune, The Daily Star and The Irish Examiner. The Awards programme acknowledges and recognises excellence in the Irish media and rewards Irish journalists whose commitment to quality, ethics and distinction best informs the Irish people and nation.

Speaking at the announcement, David Bunworth MD, Bord Gáis Energy said:
“We were delighted with the number and quality of entries and calibre of journalists that took the time and effort to enter these prestigious awards. It was obvious from the enormous response that the Irish media welcomed this initiative and we are looking forward to growing and developing this programme over the coming years.”

Ms Mary Finan, former Chairman of the RTE Authority and Chairperson of the judging panel said, "We were all very pleased with the level of participation in the Awards, which attracted over 300 entries across twelve categories ranging from news and current affairs to arts and sport. The standard of journalism in virtually all categories was high and in a few categories it was so outstanding that it made the judge’s task exceedingly difficult, evoking protracted and lively debate. However, shortlists from three to five, depending on the quality and size of entry in each category, were finally agreed upon and the overall winners will be announced on June 24th.”

The following are the award categories for the Bord Gáis Energy National Media Awards and those candidates who have been shortlisted:

Short listed entries in alphabetical order :
Category 1 Political and Current Affairs Journalist of the Year
Mark Hennessy The Irish Times
Colm Keena The Irish Times
Barry O’Kelly RTE
Paul Reynolds RTE
Category 2 Business Journalist of the Year
Simon Carswell The Irish Times
Shane Ross/ Nick Webb The Sunday Independent
Charlie Weston The Irish Independent
Category 3 Arts Journalist of the year
Eileen Battersby The Irish Times
Neil Dunphy The Sunday Tribune
Eimear McKeith The Sunday Tribune
Colin Murphy The Sunday Tribune
Diarmuid Peavoy RTE
Category 4 Rehab Disability Journalist of the Year
Jim Fahy RTE
Carl O’Brien The Irish Times
Aisling Riordan RTE
Category 5 Public Interest Story Journalist of the Year
Justine McCarthy The Sunday Tribune
Paul Maguire RTE
John Mooney The Sunday Times
Shane Ross/ Nick Webb The Sunday Independent
Category 6 Sports Journalist of the Year
Keith Duggan The Irish Times
Sean McGoldrick The Sunday World
Ewan McKenna The Sunday Tribune
Liam Mackey Irish Examiner
Denis Walsh Sunday Times
Category 7 Iriseoir na Bliana as Gaeilge
Gearóid Mac Donncha RTE
Seán Mac an tSíthigh RTE
Cathal MacCoille Foinse
Mártan Ó Ciardha Foinse
Category 8 Commentary, Analysis, Opinion and Critique Journalist of the Year
Mark Hennessy The Irish Times
Colm Keena The Irish Times
Justine McCarthy The Sunday Tribune
Category 9 Social/Humanitarian Affairs Journalist of the Year
Aine Bonner Irish Daily Star
Victoria Maye Irish Examiner
Andy Martin BBC Northern Ireland
Carl O’Brien Irish Times
Claire O’Sullivan Irish Examiner
Category 10 EirGrid Young Journalist of the Year
Miguel Delaney Sunday Tribune
Gerard Fitzgibbon Limerick Leader
Laura Noonan The Irish Independent
Category 11 Provincial/Regional Sports
Peter O’Connell The Clare Champion
Joe O’Muircheartaigh The Clare People
Diarmuid Williams Longford News
Category 12 Provincial/Regional News Journalist of the Year
Edel O’Connell Evening Echo
Dan Danaher Clare Champion
Jim Gray Sligo Champion

The judges also selected the “Bord Gáis Energy Journalist of the year” and this individual will be awarded the highest personal accolade in Irish Journalism. In addition to this, the “Outstanding Contribution to Irish Media” award will be announced on the night.

The winners will be announced at a reception evening commencing at 6.30pm on June 24th in the Dining Hall at Trinity College, Dublin. For further information on attending please go to All proceeds raised through the awards ceremony will go towards the Chernobyl’s Children’s Project International.

For further information visit

About the Elevation Group

The Elevation Group is an International marketing & events business which creates, develops and manages a range of business awards programmes in Ireland, US and Asia for the recognition of excellence and best practice across multiple disciplines.

About Bord Gáis Energy:

Bord Gáis Energy has over thirty years experience supplying energy to the Irish market and now has over 700,000 customers. Since the launch into the residential electricity market on February 18th this year, Bord Gáis Energy has signed up over 100,000 customers for residential electricity.

Switching your electricity to Bord Gáis Energy is simple and can be done anytime through

Contacts / Attached Files

Stiofáin MacDháibhéad,
Bord Gáis Energy
Tel: 01 6021116
Mobile: 087 7991206

Anne Maguire,
the Elevation Group
Mobile: 087 137 4374

Michael O’Keefe,
Pembroke Communications
Tel: 01 6496322 /