Non Flash Content - Children running through a field of corn

Winners Announced at 2009 Bord Gáis Energy National Media Awards


Shane Ross and Nick Webb win Journalist of the Year Award from over 300 entries.

The winners of the Bord Gáis Energy National Media Awards were announced at an awards ceremony in Trinity College Dublin last night. The awards, which were presided over by John Bowman, attracted over 300 entries from across the media spectrum and more than 250 journalists were in attendance to honour their colleagues and peers for their success in 2008.

The awards are Ireland’s premier media awards and celebrate excellence in Irish journalism and are supported by the NUJ.

The 13 winners, selected from 42 finalists in categories such as Business, Arts, Political and Current Affairs, Sports and Public Interest, were presented with a crystal trophy in recognition of their achievements.

The ultimate accolade of “Journalist of the Year" was awarded jointly to Shane Ross and Nick Webb for their in-depth coverage of one of the most fascinating and impactful stories last year - the FÁS expenses scandal.

Speaking at the awards Mary Finan, former Chair of the RTE Authority and Chair of the judging panel, said that the panel had faced a challenging judging process. “A free and independent press provides people with the information they need to play an active role in the life of their country. People must have the freedom to speak their mind and to publish criticism. Ireland is well served by its journalists as evidenced by the high calibre of the entries for these awards. All the winners demonstrated a discipline of research and verification, as well as a sense of newsworthiness and relevance that are worthy of particular recognition”, she said.

A special award was also made to John Bowman acknowledging his outstanding contribution to Irish media.

Ian Hyland, Chairman of The Elevation Group and Publisher/CEO Business & Finance Media Group said “It is with great honour and pleasure that we present this award to John Bowman. He has made an immeasurable contribution to journalism throughout his distinguished career. His work consistently serves as a beacon for other journalists, sets the highest standards of excellence in the field, and places the public good and public awareness before all else.

The complete list of award winners is as follows:

Political and Current Affairs Journalist of the Year
Paul Reynolds RTE
FBD Insurance Business Journalist of the Year
Shane Ross and Nick Webb The Sunday Independent
Arts Journalist of the year
Eileen Battersby The Irish Times
Rehab Disability Awareness Journalist of the Year
Carl O’Brien The Irish Times
Public Interest Story Journalist of the Year
Justine McCarthy The Sunday Tribune
Sports Journalist of the Year
Keith Duggan The Irish Times
Foras Na Gaeilge Iriseoir na Bliana as Gaeilge
Gearóid Mac Donncha RTE
Louis Copeland & Sons Commentary, Analysis, Opinion and Critique Journalist of the Year
Mark Hennessy The Irish Times
One Water Social/Humanitarian Affairs Journalist of the Year
Claire O’Sullivan Irish Examiner
Boylan Print Group Provincial/Regional Sports Journalist of the Year
Joe O’Muircheartaigh The Clare People
EirGrid Young Journalist of the Year
Gerard Fitzgibbon Limerick Leader
Provincial/Regional News Journalist of the Year
Edel O’Connell Evening Echo

Speaking at the awards, Seamus Dooley, Irish Secretary NUJ said, “These awards are designed to recognise excellence in the media. In congratulating all winners I would like to take this opportunity to salute the many journalists throughout the country and across all sectors who, on a daily basis, perform such a vital role in society.  These awards are further evidence of the strength and talent within the Irish media sector, and our aim must be to continue developing and expanding this programme over the coming years. These are challenging times for media organisations but these awards serve as a reminder of the value ofquality journalism and in continuous investment in editorial resources.”

Category sponsors include:
  • EirGrid (Young Journalist of the Year)
  • Foras Na Gaeilge (Iriseoir as Gaeilge)
  • One Water (Social/ Humanitarian Affairs Journalist of the Year)
  • Rehab (Disability Awareness Journalist of the Year)
  • Louis Copeland & Sons (Commentary, Analysis, Opinion and Critique Journalist of the Year)
  • Boylan Print Group (Provincial / Regional News Journalist of the Year)

For further information visit

About the Elevation Group

The Elevation Group is an international marketing & events business which creates, develops and manages a range of business awards programmes in Ireland, US and Asia for the recognition of excellence and best practice across multiple disciplines.

About Bord Gáis Energy:

Bord Gáis Energy has over thirty years experience supplying energy to the Irish market and now has over 700,000 customers. Since the launch into the residential electricity market on February 18th this year, Bord Gáis Energy has signed up over 150,000 customers for residential electricity, in addition to the 15,000 customers signed up through the Irish Farmers’ Association.
Switching your electricity to Bord Gáis Energy is simple and can be done anytime through

Contacts / Attached Files

Stiofáin MacDháibhéad,
Bord Gáis Energy
Tel: 01 6021116
Mobile: 087 7991206

Anne Maguire,
the Elevation Group
Mobile: 087 137 4374

Conor Dempsey
Slattery Communications :
Tel: 086-247 9892