Non Flash Content - Children running through a field of corn

Full details of the Munster GAA Awards were announced at a Press Conference in The Boardwalk Grill, Cork on Wednesday last.


The Munster GAA Awards, inaugurated in 1998, honour and acknowledge the achievements of Players, Administrators, Referees as well as a Special Merit Award while two former greats are inducted into the Munster Hall of Fame.

The Awards will be presented at a Gala Banquet in Lawlors Hotel, Dungarvan on Saturday December 5th next.

The Award recipients this year are:

Hurler of the Year Brendan Cummins Tipperary
Footballer of the Year Pierce O’Neill Cork
Media Award Jim O’Sullivan Irish Examiner
Service to Refereeing Jim Joe Landers Waterford
Service in Education Denis Ring Blackwater Community School
Manager of the Year Liam Sheedy Tipperary
Club of the Year Cratloe GAA Clare
Distinguished Service to the GAA Frank Murphy Cork
Special Merit Award Tom McGarry Limerick
Intermediate Hurling Player of Championship Leigh Desmond Cork
Junior Football Player of the Championship Aidan Walsh Cork
Under 21 Hurling Player of the championship Darach Honan Clare
Under 21 Football Player of the Championship Colm O’Neill Cork
Minor Hurling Player of the Championship Martin O’Neill Waterford
Minor Football Player of the Championship Philip Galvin Kerry
Hall of Fame Hurling Seamus Durack Clare
Hall of Fame Football John O’Keeffe Kerry

It was also announced at the Press Conference by Jim Forbes, PRO of Munster GAA that the Munster GAA Awards are sponsored by Bord Gàis Energy and he welcomed the partnership and thanked Bord Gàis Energy for their commitment to the GAA and especially to Munster GAA with their sponsorship of these Awards. Mr. Forbes congratulated all the Awards winners.

Mr. John Mullins, CEO Bord Gàis, said that the Company was delighted to be associated with awards that recognised significant contributions made by current players, former players, officials and others associated with our most important national games. 2009 was another excellent year for Munster GAA and the Munster Council and real credit is due to Jimmy O’Gorman and his team of officials in continuing to provide the Munster GAA public with scintillating moments of sport.

Present at the Press Conference were:
John Mullins, CEO Bord Gàis
Ger Cunningham, Sports Sponsorship Manager, Bord Gàis Energy
Jim Forbes, PRO Munster GAA
Enda McGuane, Deputy CEO Munster GAA


Stiofáin MacDháibhéad,
Bord Gáis Energy
Tel: 01 6021116
Mobile: 087 7991206