Non Flash Content - Children running through a field of corn

Dempsey Joins IRUPA Bord Gáis Energy Hall Of Fame


On Wednesday 12th May at the Eighth Bord Gáis Energy IRUPA Rugby Awards, former Ireland full back Girvan Dempsey will be inducted into the Bord Gáis Energy IRUPA Hall of Fame, joining other greats such as Mick Galwey, Anthony Foley, David Humphreys and Keith Wood.

Educated at Terenure College, Dempsey won his first full cap as a replacement against Georgia in November 1998 and made an immediate impact scoring two tries. A former Ireland Under-21 and 'A' cap, Dempsey's senior career will probably be most remembered for his try in the left corner at Twickenham in 2004 which helped Ireland on their way to securing their first Triple Crown since 1985.

Capped for his country 82 times, Dempsey played in two Rugby World Cups and was part of the Ireland team that won Triple Crowns in 2004, 2006 and 2007. Girvan made his debut for Leinster in September 1996 and has been capped 174 times for the province. His achievements with Leinster also include a Magner's League title in 2008 and he played an important role in Leinster winning their first Heineken Cup title last season.

On hearing of his induction Girvan commented "I am honoured to be accepting this award and joining the former players already inducted into the Bord Gáis Energy IRUPA Hall of Fame. This award means an awful lot to me especially as it comes from players I played with and against during my career".

David Bunworth, MD, Bord Gáis Energy commented, "Girvan Dempsey has been a fantastic contributor to the game of rugby at every level. He has given us some wonderful memories and been involved in some marvellous sporting moments, I would like to wish him all the very best in his retirement and his induction into the Bord Gáis Energy IRUPA Hall of Fame is a fitting tribute to his playing career."

The Bord Gáis Energy IRUPA Awards will take place at Dublin's Burlington Hotel on Wednesday May 12th.


Sara Jane English,
Tel: +353 1 676 9680
/ +353 86 853 2970

Stiofáin MacDháibhéad,
Bord Gáis Energy.
Tel: 01 602 1116
/ 087 799 1206

Claire Turvey,
Pembroke Communications
Tel: 01-649 6312 /
087 983 4851

Notes to editors

PLEASE NOTE: Winners' names will be issued under embargo on the day of the Awards, Wednesday 12th May.

Bord Gáis Energy IRUPA Players' Player Of The Year 2010

Tommy BoweOspreys
Keith EarlsMunster
Jamie HeaslipLeinster

IRUPA Nokia Unsung Hero Of The Year 2010

John FogartyLeinster
Chris HenryUlster
Michael SwiftConnacht

IRUPA Nature Valley Young Player Of The Year 2010

Fionn CarrConnacht
Scott DeasyMunster
Keith EarlsMunster

IRUPA Volkswagen Try Of Year 2010

Fionn CarrLeinster v Connacht, Magner's League
Brian O'DriscollLeinster v Brive, Heineken Cup
Andrew TrimbleBath v Ulster, Heineken Cup

O2 IRUPA Team Of The Decade 2000-2009

Team announced at the Awards Ceremony on Wednesday 12th May 2010

Bord Gáis Energy Supporters' Player Of The Year

The Supporters' Player of the Year as voted by listeners of Newstalk106-108fm will be announced at the Bord Gáis Energy IRUPA Awards on Wednesday 12th May 2010.