Non Flash Content - Children running through a field of corn

Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2010


President McAleese presents the queen of Irish popular fiction, Maeve Binchy, with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award at the 5th annual Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards

Emma Donoghue, Neil Richardson, Ross O’Carroll Kelly, Ryan Tubridy, Gene Kerrigan, Donal Skehan, Niamh Sharkey, Derek Landy, John Giles and Donal Óg Cusack triumph at the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2010

Beloved Irish author, Maeve Binchy, was presented with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award by An President, Mary McAleese, at the fifth annual Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2010.

With almost 30,000 public votes cast, Emma Donoghue, Paul Howard (aka Ross O’Carroll Kelly), Ryan Tubridy, Gene Kerrigan and Johnny Giles, were among the winners announced at the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Award 2010.

The gala dinner ceremony, which was hosted by Sinead Desmond and John Murray, saw over 50 Irish authors come together to celebrate the best of Irish literature published in the last year. Among those in attendance were internationally renowned Colum McCann, Cecelia Ahern, Paul Murray, Roddy Doyle, Cathy Kelly and children’s author John Boyne as well as thevery best of Irish authors across Irish crime, popular fiction, children’s fiction, sport and non-fiction.

The winning books across the ten categories in the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2010’ are:

The Hughes & Hughes Irish Novel of the Year:

  • Room by Emma Donoghue(Picador)

RTÉ Radio 1’s The John Murray Show Listeners’ Choice Award:

  • Come What May by Donal Og Cusack (Penguin Ireland)

The Ireland AM Irish Crime Fiction Book of the Year:

  • Dark Times in the City by Gene Kerrigan (Vintage)

The ArgosyIrish Non-Fiction Book of the Year:

  • A Coward If I Return A Hero If I Fall by Neil Richardson (O’Brien Press)

Eason Irish Popular Fiction Book of the Year:

  • The Oh My God Delusion by Ross O'Carroll Kelly (Penguin Ireland)

Energise Sport Irish Sports Book of the Year:

  • A Football Man by John Giles (Hachette Books Ireland)

Irish Newcomer of the Year:

  • JFK in Ireland: Four Days that Changed a President by Ryan Tubridy (Collins)

International Education Services Best Irish Published Book of the Year:

  • Good Mood Food by Donal Skehan (Mercier)

The Dublin Airport Authority Irish Children’s Book of the Year:


  • On the Road with Mavis and Marge by Niamh Sharkey (Walker Books)


  • Skulduggery Pleasant: Mortal Coil by Derek Landy (Harper Collins Children's Books)

Derek Landy, who triumphed in a nationwide public poll to find the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book of the Decade last summer with his book Skulduggery Pleasant, was celebrated for this achievement and presented with a commemorative Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Award during the ceremony.

The ‘Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards’incorporate the entire book trade in Ireland making it the only industry wide event of its kind in the history of the Irish book sector.

David Bunworth, Managing Director at Bord Gáis Energy commented;

“There was an abundant wealth of talent among the shortlisted nominees and we would like to congratulate the winners who triumphed. The Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards is an important celebration of Irish writing both at home and abroad and we are delighted to support this event which encourages and promotes reading in Ireland.”

The Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2010 are sponsored by The John Murray Show on RTÉ Radio 1, TV3’s Ireland AM, The Sunday Independent, Eason, Dublin Airport Authority, Energise Sport, Argosy, Hughes & Hughes, International Education Services LTD. and National Book Tokens.


For media enquiries, please contact:
Breda Brown / Joanne Leahy
Unique Media
Tel: (01) 522 5200 or (087) 1229776 (JL)

For sponsorship enquiries, please contact:
Alastair Giles, IBA Executive Director
agile marketing
Tel: (0044) 1225 865776 or (0044) 799 088 7271

Stiofain MacDhaibhead, Bord Gáis Energy
Tel: (01) 602 1116 / (087) 799 1206