Non Flash Content - Children running through a field of corn

Best-selling author Jeffrey Archer to be honoured at the 'Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2014' with inaugural 'International Recognition Award'.


He will be presented with the award on Wednesday, 26 November 2014 in the presence of a host of celebrated Irish authors representing the very best of Irish fiction, crime, sport, children’s and non-fiction genres.

The new 'International Recognition Award' has been introduced to honour international writers who, in the view of the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards board, have contributed substantially to the health and wealth of the Irish book-trade. Recipients will have a large corpus of popular work behind them; will have sales figures counted in millions; will have demonstrated staying power and longevity; and will have endeared themselves to Irish booksellers throughout their long careers.

According to the Board of the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards:

"For nigh on four decades, Jeffrey Archer has been a one-man publishing industry combining his unique storytelling ability with an indefatigable energy that has seen him top bestseller lists around the world with sales of over 270 million copies for his many novels and short story collections. These are phenomenal numbers by any standards and the pace shows no sign of slowing. It’s difficult to imagine that Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less was published as long ago as 1976 but thirty-eight years on, he is still producing bestselling fiction with impressive regularity; volume 5 of the Clifton Chronicles, an ambitious project that tells the extraordinary story of Harry Clifton, will be published in February of next year."

This is the ninth year of the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards, which are dedicated to honouring Irish writers across the entire publishing spectrum. This year's shortlist features a diverse array of acclaimed authors and well known Irish personalities including literary heavyweights Roddy Doyle, Colm Tóibín, Joseph O’ Connor and John Boyne, celebrated sporting figures Roy Keane and Brian O’ Driscoll, BBC presenter Graham Norton, and fiction queens Cecilia Ahern and Cathy Kelly. Renowned contemporary Irish poet Paul Durcan will be honoured with the ‘Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award’ for 2014.

For the fourth year running, RTÉ Television will be broadcasting the highlights of the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards on RTÉ One on Saturday 29 November. This programme will showcase one of the biggest celebrations of Irish writing with many of Ireland’s most celebrated and loved authors in attendance.

For further information, please log on to the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards website

For further information:

Lisa Buckley or Breda Brown,
Unique Media
Tel: (01) 522 5200 (087) 7779259