What is a vulnerable customer?

There are two types of vulnerable customers, a special services customer for gas/electricity and a priority customer for electricity.

A special services customer can qualify for our special services register if they are;

  • Blind or partially sighted
  • Mobility difficulties
  • Deaf or hard of hearing 
  • Speech impaired 
  • Language difficulty 
  • Learning difficulty 
  • Mental health issues
  • Dexterity difficulties
  • Aged 66 or over and live alone, with minors or other elderly people

A priority customer is a person who is reliant on electrical home medical equipment, both life-supporting and non-life supporting.

If you would like to apply for one of these services, please complete our online form.

For further information or to print a registration booklet, please view our gas and electricity code of practices: